Tata Transformation Prize celebrates pathbreaking healthcare innovation in India

07 November 2023 | News

Prof Anurag Singh Rathore from the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi wins in the healthcare category

image credit- shutterstock

image credit- shutterstock

Tata Sons and The New York Academy of Sciences have announced the first Winners of the Tata Transformation Prize. The prize recognises and supports visionary scientists in India who are developing innovative solutions to critical societal challenges.

Three scientists were selected from 169 entries by an international jury of renowned experts for their innovations in food security, sustainability, and healthcare. Each winner will receive Rs 2 crore (approximately $240,000) and will be honoured at a ceremony in Mumbai in December 2023.

The jury included distinguished scientists, clinicians, technologists, and engineers spanning six continents from a variety of organisations, including IBM Research, Indian Institute of Science Bengaluru, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, Public Health Foundation of India, and UN-Habitat.

For the healthcare category, the winner is Professor Anurag Singh Rathore, a healthcare pioneer aiming to reduce the manufacturing cost of biotherapeutics for treating cancer and autoimmune diseases, thus enabling equal access to these top-tier, expensive treatments currently out of reach for 90% of the Indian population. Prof Rathore has established a state-of-the-art drug manufacturing facility with continuous processing that incorporates novel methods for real-time process monitoring and control. His innovation is projected to reduce manufacturing costs by 50-75%, making best-in-class biotherapeutics for complex diseases significantly more affordable for Indian populations in need and further advancing India’s position at the forefront of global medical innovation. 

The other two winners are Dr Purnananda Guptasarma, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Mohali (Sustainability category) and Dr Shilpi Sharma, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi (for food security).


× Your session has been expired. Please click here to Sign-in or Sign-up
   New User? Create Account