Tuesday, 23 January 2018

Four more science centres opening in Odisha

22 June 2017 | News

The four new centres will be opened at Keonjhar, Jeypore, Gopalpur and Khandapara.

Odisha Government has decided to set up four more science centres in different parts of the State to popularise science and technology among people.

A resolution in this regard was passed at the first governing body meeting of the State Council of Science and Technology presided over by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik recently. A science centre has already been set up at Tukurla in Bargarh district. The four new centres will be opened at Keonjhar, Jeypore, Gopalpur and Khandapara.

The council decided to implement the new biotechnology policy-2016. Besides, a decision was also taken to initiate steps to open science laboratories in schools.

A resolution was adopted to create five thematic divisions of the council. The first division will look after agriculture, water, energy and environment while the second one will be for research and development, start-ups, innovation and consultancy.

Similarly, the third division will deal with science education and communication, intellectual property rights and patent while the fourth will look after rural technology, transfer of technology and social development.

The fifth division of the council will deal with health services and bio-technology. The five divisions will have three resource persons each.


× Your session has been expired. Please click here to Sign-in or Sign-up
   New User? Create Account

Survey Box

Has Health Financing become an imperative need in India?

× Please select an option to participate in the poll.
Processing...   View poll results   More polls

× You have successfully cast your vote.
{{ optionDetail.option }}{{ optionDetail.percentage }}%
{{ optionDetail.percentage }}% Complete
More polls