Dr Cyrus Poonawalla receives BioSpectrum Lifetime Achievement Award 2020

15 March 2021 | News

Biospectrum India hosts Biospectrum Excellence Awards 2020

Biospectrum India hosted Biospectrum Excellence Awards 2020 on March 12, 2021. The event was organised on a virtual platform. The awards felicitated the stalwarts of Indian Biotechnology & Health Science Industry. The highlight of Biospectrum Excellence Awards 2020 were the jury awards in the following categories: BioSpectrum Lifetime Achievement Award; BioSpectrum Person of the Year Award; BioSpectrum Leadership Award; BioSpectrum Entrepreneur of the Year; Woman Entrepreneur of the Year Award; BioSpectrum BioPharma Product of the Year; and BioSpectrum Diagnostics Product of the Year.

India's top biotech companies were honoured. The winners were top companies of the industry selected in BioSpectrum industry survey held in the year 2019. The awards were delayed due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. 

The event commenced with a panel discussion on 'Will sharing COVID-19 vaccine efforts reap more rewards?’. The panelists for the discussion were Dr SD Ravetkar, Executive Director, Serum Institute of India, Pune, Dr Sriram Natarajan, Founder, MolBio DIagnostics, Goa, Dr Vishal G Warke, Director R&D, Cell Culture and Immunology, Himedia Laboratories, Mumbai and Dr Raches Ella, Head Business Development and Advocacy, Bharat Biotech. The panelists discussed about how it can turn out to be more rewarding for the industry to share their innovative vaccine technology with others and work together.

The panel discussion was followed by the awards presentation ceremony where the key highlight was the jury awards. The jury panel for BioSpectrum Excellence Awards 2020 consisted of: Chairperson-  Dr Renu Swarup, Secretary, Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Government of India, New Delhi; Members- Dr Gagandeep Kang- Professor, Department of Gastrointestinal Sciences, Christian Medical College, Vellore; Deepanwita Chattopadhyay, Chief Executive Officer, IKP Knowledge Park, Hyderabad; Utkarsh Palnitkar, Founder and Managing Director, Aarna Corporate Advisors, US; Bhagirath Choudhary, Founder Director, South Asia Biotechnology Centre (SABC), New Delhi. 

The winners of the awards for BioSpectrum Excellence Awards 2020 are: 

BioSpectrum Jury Awards

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr Cyrus Poonawalla, Chairperson, Serum Institute of India, Pune
  • Product of the Year Award I: ROTAVAC 5D, Bharat Biotech- Dr Krishna Ella, Chairman & Managing Director, Bharat Biotech, Hyderabad
  • Product of the Year Award II: TrueNat, MolBio Diagnostics- Sriram Natarajan, Chief Executive Officer, Molbio Diagnostics, Goa
  • Woman Entrepreneur of the Year Award: Dr Geetha Manjunath, CEO, Niramai
  • Entrepreneur of the Year Award: Kavita Iyer Rodrigues, Chief Executive Officer, Zumutor Biologics, Bengaluru


Industry Ranking Awards 

Biopharma section

  • Top MNC biopharma company - Novo Nordisk India Pvt Ltd, Bengaluru
  • Top Indian biopharma company – Serum Institute of India, Pune

Diagnostics section

  • Top Indian MedTech company (Indian) – Transasia Bio Medicals Ltd, Mumbai  

Bio services section

  • TOP CDMO company -Piramal Pharma Solutions, Mumbai 
  • TOP CRMO company - Syngene International Ltd, Bengaluru 
  • TOP CRAMS company - Suven Life Sciences Ltd, Hyderabad 
  • Top CLRO Company - Veeda Clinical Research Limited, Ahmedabad 
  • TOP CRISP company - Anthem Biosciences Private Limited, Bengaluru 

Biosupplier section 

  • Top biosupplier (MNC) - Waters India Pvt Ltd, Bengaluru
  • Top biosupplier (Distributor) - DSS Imagetech Pvt Ltd, New Delhi
  • Top analytical instruments company (MNC) - Thermo Fisher Scientific India Pvt Ltd, Mumbai 
  • Top analytical instruments company (Distributor) - DSS Imagetech Pvt Ltd, New Delhi 

Industrial enzymes section

  • Top industrial enzyme company (Indian) - Rossari Biotech Ltd, Mumbai 
  • Top MNC industrial enzyme company (MNC) - Novozymes South Asia Private Limited, Bengaluru

Bio Incubator section

  • Top Bioincubator in public sector – Bangalore Bioinnovation Centre, Bengaluru, Karnataka
  • Top Bioincubator in private sector – KIIT Technology Business Incubator, Bhubneswar, Odisha


Editor’s Choice Awards

  • Bio Supplier Industry Leader Award - Dr GM Warke, Founder & CMD, Hi Media
  • Innovation in CRO sector in India – TCG Lifesciences Pvt Ltd
  • Digital Media Disruptors in Biotech & Life Science - Thermo Fisher Scientific
  • Top Innovator for Biologics Packaging & Delivery  - West Pharmaceutical Packaging India


× Your session has been expired. Please click here to Sign-in or Sign-up
   New User? Create Account