BioSpectrum announces Special Recognition Award Winners for BioSpectrum India Excellence Awards 2023

05 April 2023 | Features

BioSpectrum India Excellence Awards 2023 to be held in New Delhi

image credit- shutterstock

image credit- shutterstock

To appreciate the Indian companies and individuals for their commendable performances and achievements during FY 20-21 and FY 21-22, and noting that India is the new hub for potential growth and innovation, BioSpectrum India, an integrated B2B media platform for the life science industry in the country, is setting the tone for an exciting opportunity in the form of BioSpectrum India Excellence Awards 2023 this year.

The event will be felicitating industry stalwarts across three categories- Jury Awards, Industry Ranking Awards and Special Recognition Awards. 

The following companies have been selected as winners for our Special Recognition segment-


  • Bioinnovation Leader of the Year- Dr Jitendra Kumar, Managing Director, Bangalore Bioinnovation Centre (BBC)


  • Industry Leader of the Year- Dr Gangadhar M Warke, Chief Executive Officer, HiMedia Laboratories


  • Best Innovator for COVID-19 Solutions – Dr Vishal G Warke, Director- R&D, Cell Culture & Immunology, HiMedia Laboratories



  • Special Recognition in Cell & Gene Therapy- ReGrow Biosciences



  • Digital Disruptors of the Year- Thermo Fisher Scientific, India


  • Excellence in MedTech Innovation- Dräger India


  • Business Person of the Year in Life Sciences Industry- Amit Sehgal, Managing Director and Country Head – Avantor India


  • Most Promising Company: Engineering Solution & Services for Pharma, BioPharma & Nutraceutical Industry  - Praj HiPurity Systems Limited 



Criteria used for the Special Recognition Awards-

  • Major achievements
  • Challenges faced & solved
  • Novelty/ Uniqueness added
  • Competitive advantage
  • Other efficiencies


The winners for the Special Recognition Awards have been selected by BioSpectrum’s editorial team to turn the spotlight onto companies we believe will lead the way in the near future, not only in India but globally.

“BioSpectrum awards as we know were constituted in 2003 to recognise the outstanding contributions made by entrepreneurs, thought leaders and other key members of the life sciences ecosystem who have been instrumental in promoting the growth of the industry over the years. Unfortunately, the awards ceremony was discontinued in between. However, we used to receive continuous queries and calls. So, we decided to keep up this good work and revived the process in 2019. We were encouraged and pleased when we approached Dr Renu Swarup to chair the jury and she graciously accepted the task. But owing to the pandemic in 2020, we could not hold a physical event post revival and decided to go virtual in 2021. It was indeed a learning experience especially because during the pandemic we saw that our reach through digital route enhanced many folds. But now we will meet in person in 2023”, said Ravindra Boratkar, Managing Editor and Publisher, BioSpectrum India; and Managing Director, MM Activ Sci-Tech Communications.

These awards are an extension to observe and highlight the winners in the long battle to tackle the world's emerging health problems and find solutions. Since the years 2020 and 2021 were majorly affected by the COVID-19 pandemic, we saw the industry players relentlessly working towards developing novel solutions in the form of diagnostic tests, vaccine, monoclonal antibodies, drugs etc. to fight the emergency. 

Through these awards, BioSpectrum India is playing the role of picking tomorrow's winners, nudging today's entrepreneurs to achieve greater glory and honouring yesterday's key players who laid the foundation for success.

The winners of the Jury Awards will be announced at the event to be held in New Delhi, on 30th June*, while the Industry Ranking Award winners have already been announced in our magazine editions in 2022 and 2023.



(*Final details to be shared soon)


× Your session has been expired. Please click here to Sign-in or Sign-up
   New User? Create Account