

GSK announces changes to its Board

03 March 2015 | News | By BioSpectrum Bureau

GSK announces changes to its Board



GlaxoSmithKline (GSK) has announced that Sir Christopher Gent will step down as chairman of GSK at the company's annual general meeting (AGM) on 7 May 2015. He will be succeeded by Sir Philip Hampton with effect from the end of the AGM.

Sir Philip joined GSK's board as an independent non-executive director on 1 January 2015, and will become deputy chairman on 1 April 2015. Sir Philip chairs the company's nominations committee. He will remain chairman of RBS until 31 August 2015.

In addition, Mr Tom de Swaan, independent non-executive director, is not seeking re-election to the Board at the AGM. He has been a Board member for 9 years and is currently chairman of the remuneration committee and a member of the audit & risk Committee (of which he was previously chairman), and the nominations committee. A successor for Mr de Swaan as Chairman of the remuneration committee will be announced in due course.