

Global Youth Agri-Summit to be held in Oz

16 April 2015 | News | By BioSpectrum Bureau

Global Youth Agri-Summit to be held in Oz



Future Farmers Network Australia and Bayer CropScience announced the upcoming 2nd Global Youth Ag-Summit, themed "Feeding a Hungry Planet", which will take place in Canberra, Australia, on August 24-28, 2015.

India will send three delegates for the event, including: Ms Aatika Singh from New Delhi, Mr Raghav Raghunathan from Dewad in MP; and Mr Rohit Fenn from Kottayam, Kerala.

A total of 1,932 essays from 87 countries were submitted.

"We nearly received 2,000 essays from around the world which signals a strong interest in the issue of feeding a hungry planet. The quality of the essays was outstanding and the challenges and solutions identified highlight that opportunities like the Youth Ag-Summit provide a great platform to continue the discussions," said Ms Georgie Aley, chair, Future Farmers Network Australia. "We look forward to welcoming the delegates to Australia in August along with our partner Bayer CropScience in the delivery of the event."

During the summit, the delegates will identify, connect and create ideas to progress agriculture around the world.

"We believe there is a need for young leaders to be engaged in finding sustainable agricultural solutions to the growing global need for safe and nutritious food. The Youth Ag-Summit is an opportunity to broaden the perspectives from others around the world. It will also enable young leaders to further grow personally and develop their knowledge", stressed Mr Liam Condon, CEO Bayer CropScience.

This collaborative approach aims to leave them with actionable ideas they take back to their home countries to embed into their personal operations and careers.

Delegates from the following countries are expected to participate: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Paraguay, Philippines, Poland, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Uruguay, USA and Vietnam.