

# **BEST India 2014 kindles entrepreneurial spirit**

21 October 2014 | News | By BioSpectrum Bureau

# BEST India 2014 kindles entrepreneurial spirit



The workshop acts as an entrepreneurial platform for students with entrepreneurial dreams through their innovations.

As per the procedure, a nationwide call for proposals in the area of lifesciences that have commercialization potential is announced. After receiving the proposals a panel of judges screen the applications.

The jury consists of eminent persons from academia, industry, and the investment sector.

Later, each team is expected to submit a concept note, based on which the panel will screen the applications and shortlist 20 teams.

These 20 teams attend a fully paid for high quality entrepreneurship workshop familiarizing them on matters including business plans, IP and patenting strategies, raising finance, business strategies, HR practices, and communication skills.

The concept notes are screened for:

- Innovativeness of the idea
- · Techno economic feasibility and scalability of the idea
- · Commercialization and market potential of the idea
- Clarity of communication

At the end of the Workshop, each team develops a business plan based on their concept and learning from the workshop, and are given a chance to make a ten-minute power point presentation to the jury. The Jury then shortlists the top 5 winners.

The team with the best business plan secures the #1 spot, followed by the 2nd and 3rd spots shared by two teams.

The winners this year were awarded prizes by Dr Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw, CMD, Biocon. The prizes were worth Rs 5 lakh, Rs 3 lakh and 2 lakh respectively

The following teams were declared as winners:

• 1st Place

## 'RightBiotic - Fastest Antibiotic Finder'

Members: Ms Shivani Gupta, Ms DV Padmavathi, Ms Anuradha Pal, Mr Sidharth Sahdev and Mr Mukund Kabra Prize Money: Rs 500,000

### • 2nd Place

## Team 1: 'Lipisols'

Members: Ms Smita Sandeep Kale, Mr Dinesh Dhumal, Mr Ashish Jain, Mr Sachin Veer and Mr Ganesh Wagh Prize Money: Rs 300,000

### Team 2: 'Osmesoblock - A Super Non-Sting Anti-Hemorrhagic Formula'

Members: Mr Nitin Jadhav, Ms Nisha Yadav, Mrunal Patil, Mr Mahendra Prajapati, and Mr Avinash Chaudhary Prize Money: Rs 300,000

• 3rd Place

# Team 1: 'Oracan-D - Oral Cancer Detection Kit'

Members: Mr Maruthi Prasanna, Mr Vivek Borse, Mr Nishant Jain and Mr Sayandan Ghosh Prize Money: Rs 200,000

### Team 2: "3-D Mammalian Cell Culture Substrate'

Members: Mr Kaushik Choudhury, Ms Dhwani Jhala, Mr Dhaval Kedaria, Mr Prashanth Agarwal and Mr Rishab Goenka Prize Money: Rs 200,000