

Winners of Infosys Prize 2013 announced

12 November 2013 | News | By BioSpectrum Bureau

Winners of Infosys Prize 2013 announced



The winners had been recognized for their outstanding achievements and contributions to scientific research.

The Infosys Science Foundation also announced an increase in the prize money from Rs 50 lakh to Rs 55 lakh for each category for 2013. The prize for the humanities category will be split equally between the two winners.

The seven winners had been chosen based on significant progress showcased in their respective spheres, as well as for the impact their research had had on their specific field.

The winners of the Infosys Prize 2013 had been evaluated by a panel of jurors comprising of eminent scientists and professors from around the world.

The jury chairs of the six categories are: Prof. Pradeep K. Khosla, engineering & computer science; Prof. Amartya Sen, humanities; Dr. Inder Verma, life sciences; Prof. Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan, mathematical sciences; Prof. Shrinivas Kulkarni, physical sciences; and Dr. Kaushik Basu, social sciences.