

Government launches new National Awards for Science, Technology & Innovation

21 September 2023 | News

Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar shall be one of the highest recognitions in the field of science, technology, and innovation in India



The Government of India has come out with a new set of National Awards in the field of Science, Technology and Innovation known as "Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar" (RVP).

The objective of RVP is to recognise the notable and inspiring contribution made by the scientists, technologists, and innovators individually or in teams in various fields of science, technology and technology-led innovation.

The awards shall be given in following four categories:-

- 1. Vigyan Ratna (VR) award will recognise lifetime achievements & contributions made in any field of science and technology.
- 2. Vigyan Shri (VS) award will recognise distinguished contributions in any field of science and technology.
- 3. **Vigyan Yuva-Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (VY-SSB)** award will recognise & encourage young scientists up to the age of 45 years who made an exceptional contribution in any field of science and technology.
- 4. **Vigyan Team (VT)** award to be given to a team comprising of three or more scientists/researchers/innovators who have made an exceptional contribution working in a team in any field of science and technology.

The RVP shall be given in the 13 domains, namely Physics, Chemistry, Biological Sciences, Mathematics & Computer Science, Earth Science, Medicine, Engineering Sciences, Agricultural Science, Environmental Science, Technology & Innovation, Atomic Energy, Space Science and Technology, and Others. The representation from each domain/field, including gender parity will be ensured.

All nominations received for the Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar awards shall be placed before the **Rashtriya Vigyan Puraskar Committee** (RVPC) to be headed by the Principal Scientific Adviser (PSA) to Government of India and comprising Secretaries of Science Departments, members of Science and Engineering Academies and some distinguished scientists and technologists from different fields of science and technology.

The nominations will be invited every year on 14th January which would remain open till 28th February (National Science Day) every year. These awards shall be announced on 11thMay (National Technology Day) every year. The Award Ceremony for all categories of awards will be held on 23rd August (National Space Day).