

## Karnataka to formulate new policy on S&T

03 March 2020 | News

## Chief Minister Yediyurappa announces Nano Technology Park in Karnataka



The 11<sup>th</sup> edition of Bengaluru India Nano, one of the front running events of the Department of IT, BT and S&T, Government of Karnataka with the theme 'New Dimensions in Nanoscience and Nanotechnology for Industry 4.0' was inaugurated by Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa in the presence of Prof. C N R Rao, FRS, National Research Professor, Linus Pauling Research Professor, Honorary President, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Chairman Vision Group on Science and Technology and Nanotechnology, Government of Karnataka and Chief Mentor of Bengaluru India Nano, Dr. C.N. Ashwath Narayan, Deputy Chief Minister and Minister for IT, BT and S&T, Higher Education, Skill Development, Entrepreneurship and Livelihood, Government of Karnataka, Prof. Roger Howe, Stanford University, USA, Rizwan Arshad, MLA, Shivajinagar, Dr. E V Ramana Reddy, IAS, Additional Chief Secretary, Department of IT, BT and S&T, Government of Karnataka and Chairman Karnataka Scientific and Technology Promotion Society (KSTePS), Prof. Ajay Sood, FRS, Chair Professor, Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru and Dr. H Honne Gowda, Special Secretary (Technical), Department of IT, BT and S&T, Government of Karnataka and Managing Director, Karnataka Science and Technology Promotion Society (KSTePS), on 2nd March 2020 in Bengaluru.

Delivering the inaugural address, B S Yediyurappa, Hon. Chief Minister, Government of Karnataka, said, "Our aim is to make Karnataka a hub for nanotechnology. The Government of Karnataka is keen to provide the necessary priority through development of strong institutional base, infrastructure support and skilled manpower to create the right ecosystem for nanotechnology growth in the State. The Government is proposing to develop a nano park in the State in collaboration with the Government of India. Establishment of common instrumentation facilities to provide greater emphasis for growth of this emerging field will also be considered. Action will be taken for up-skilling and re-skilling the manpower required for this sunrise industry. I call upon scientists and engineers to come up with innovative nano technology based solutions for food security, energy security, water purification, healthcare, waste management and to combat environmental hazards, which are expected to increase many folds in the near future due to urbanization, population growth and change in lifestyle."

The Chief Minister also presented the prestigious Prof. C.N.R Rao Bengaluru INDIA NANO Science Award 2020 to Prof. P.S. Anil Kumar, Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru for his outstanding contribution to nanotechnology.

Prof. C N R Rao, FRS, National Research Professor, Linus Pauling Research Professor, Honorary President, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Chairman Vision Group on Science and Technology and

Nanotechnology, Government of Karnataka and Chief Mentor of Bengaluru India Nano said, "Nanotechnology has been making giant strides in the field of healthcare but I feel that there is still a lot of potential that can be tapped. I urge our young scientists to conduct more research in the field of healthcare and come out with some great solutions. Bengaluru India Nano acts as a global platform for convergence of research, academia and industry to explore emerging opportunities and for deliberation. Some of the key focus areas of Bengaluru India Nano 2020 will be on Nano in Energy for E-mobility, Nano in Agriculture, Nano for Clean Water and Environment and Nano in Manufacturing. Around 30 world class speakers from leading industries and organizations, both from India and abroad will address this event."

Bengaluru INDIA NANO is mentored by India's foremost scientist Prof. C N R Rao, FRS, National Research Professor, Linus Pauling Research Professor, Honorary President, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR) and Chairman Vision Group of Nanotechnology, Government of Karnataka and structured by the Vision Group on Nanotechnology, Government of Karnataka.

Dr. C.N. Ashwath Narayan, Deputy Chief Minister and Minister for IT, BT and S&T, Higher Education, Skill Development, Entrepreneurship and Livelihood, Government of Karnataka, in his address said, "The Government of Karnataka is in the process of bringing out a Science and Technology Policy, wherein we are proposing many programs to support R&D in the State. The vision group chaired by Prof. CNR Rao will help us in formulating the policy and identify priority areas to build core competencies and foster research in this advanced discipline, so as to address present and future development needs. Our focus is also to make Bengaluru and Karnataka as a leader of Nanotechnology with collaboration and co-operation of premier institutes in Bengaluru such as Indian Institute of Science, Centre for Nano and Soft Matter Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, NCBS and others. The Government will leave no stone unturned to provide all facilities in terms of state-of-the-art infrastructure and proactive policy to ensure the growth of nanotechnology in the State."

In his speech, Dr. E V Ramana Reddy, IAS, Additional Chief Secretary, Department of IT, BT and S&T, Government of Karnataka, said, "The global market for Nanotechnology is projected to reach \$125.70 billion by 2024 at a CAGR of around 17%, driven by growing R&D efforts directed at enabling the development of nanotech-based products and solutions in diverse industries. Bengaluru India Nano offers an unparalleled opportunity for business networking and for knowledge sharing in the exciting field of Nanotechnology and it has now evolved as the leading and most sought-after international Nanotech event in India."

Among the prominent awards conferred at Bengaluru India Nano 2020 was Bengaluru India Nano Innovation Award which was presented to Dr. Sandip Patil, Founder Director, E-Spin Nanotech, Kanpur.