Nominations for Breakthrough Prizes in life sciences now open online

Online nominations for the Breakthrough Prize awarded by The Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences Foundation for the year 2014 is now open.


The Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences Foundation recently announced the opening of online nominations for Breakthrough Prizes for 2014. The rules and nomination form are made available in their official site.

As per the rules, anyone can nominate a candidate online and all submissions must be completed by a third party. Nominations will be accepted through October 2, 2013.

This year the foundation will award up to five prizes worth $3 million each, sponsored by Sergey Brin and Anne Wojcicki, Mark Zuckerberg and Priscilla Chan, and Yuri Milner.

All prizes will be awarded for research aimed at curing deadly diseases and extending human life, with special attention to recent discoveries. One prize sponsored by Sergey Brin and Anne Wojcicki is aimed specifically at advancements in Parkinson's disease research.

The 2014 prize winners will be chosen by the foundation's selection committee, comprised of prior recipients of the Breakthrough Prize in life sciences, including, Cornelia I. Bargmann, David Botstein, Lewis C. Cantley, Hans Clevers, Napoleone Ferrara, Titia de Lange, Eric S. Lander, Charles L. Sawyers, Bert Vogelstein, Robert A. Weinberg, and Shinya Yamanaka.


Previous 1 Next

Leave a Reply Sign in

Notify me of follow-up comments via e-mail address

Post Comment

Survey Box

National Health Policy

Is National Health Policy 2017 helpful for patients?

Send this article by email