• 17 December 2009
  • News
  • By

BioSpectrum Awards 2009

December is the time for the annual BioSpectrum Awards, which were started in 2003. The awards are to recognize the exceptional contributions of the industarum-ABLE Survey of the Biotech Industry”. The top ranked companies (by revenues) in each of the sectors are the winners.
The BioSpectrum Biotech Industry Awards were selected by a panel of eminent people, who come from various backgrounds. The panel is empowered to nominate or introduce any special category of award.
juryBioSpectrum Awards 2009 jury and deliberations
The process started with the constitution of the panel in the first week of September 2009 and laying down the criteria for the selection of BioSpectrum Awards 2009. This was followed by the members of the jury meeting in New Delhi on October 23, 2008 for making the final choice.
BioSpectrum Jury Award Winners 2009
The jury was unanimous in its choice of selecting the winners in most of the categories. The awardees of 2009 are:
BioSpectrum Life Time Achievement Award 2009:
Dr. D. Balasubramanian, Director of Research, LV Prasad Eye Institute
BioSpectrum Person of the Year 2009: Hari Bhartia, co-chairman and managing director, Jubilant Organosys
BioSpectrum Entrepreneur of 2009: Binoy Gardi and Apurva Shah of Veeda Clinical Research
BioProduct of 2009: Dry Tri T-STAT Diagnostic Kit, ReaMetrix
BioSpectrum Company Award winners:
BioPharma Company of the Year: Serum Institute
BioAgri Company of the Year: Rasi Seeds
BioServices Company of the Year: Jubilant Organosys, Syngene Intl
BioIndustrial Company of the Year: Novozymes South Asia
BioSuppliers Company of the Year: Waters India
Public Institute of the Year: Jawaharlal Nehru University
Private Institute of the Year: Sastra University, Thanjavur
The jury chair, Samir Brahmachari, guided the entire process of arriving at unanimous decisions and notified each winner of the selection and the winners have agreed to accept the awards.
The winners of BioSpectrum Awards 2009 would be honored on December 22, 2009 at the Awards ceremony in Bangalore.

Leave a Reply Sign in

Notify me of follow-up comments via e-mail address

Post Comment

Survey Box

National Health Policy

Is National Health Policy 2017 helpful for patients?

Send this article by email