• 9 December 2010
  • News
  • By

BioSpectrum Awards 2010

BioSpectrum Awards 2010 - Jury (L-R): Mr CSN Murthy, CEO, Aurigene Discovery, Bangalore (Industry); Dr Satya Dash, COO, Association of Biotechnology-Led Enterprises (ABLE), Bangalore (Industry); Ms Visalakshi Chandramouli, Partner, Health Care Fund (private equity), Tata Capital, Mumbai (Investor Community); Dr K Sankaran, Director, Center for Biotechnology, Anna University, Chennai - (Academic Community); Mr Hari S Bhartia, Co-Chairman & MD, Jubilant Life Sciences (Jury Chairman); Mr Pradeep Gupta, Publisher of BioSpectrum & Chairman, CyberMedia; Mr Mani Iyer, Founder, Iyerswest, Ahmedabad and ex-head of Biotech, Intas Pharma; Mr Narayanan Suresh, Group Editor, BioSpectrum;

The verdict is out. And the result is applause – for the industry captains who are winners of this year's BioSpectrum Industry Awards and also for the Jury members who managed this tough task in a two-hour-long deliberation.

Since its institution in 2003, the BioSpectrum Biotech Industry Awards honor the achievements of the Indian biotechnology industry leaders. The Annuaal Gala Awards Nite in December, where these are given away, is the most eagerly awaited event in the industry.

In November itself, the team at BioSpectrum begins to get queries like: who are the winners, can we have just a clue... and so on... and we have to play secretive. However, this year, we were running so late in organizing the Jury meeting that we ourselves had no clue. On one side, there were some guessing games on... and on the other, the team was getting heebie-jeebies about rolling out a special issue - like the one you are holding in your hands - in two-weeks flat.

That was until the BioSpectrum Biotech Industry Awards Jury 2010 Jury met on November 13, 2010 in Delhi. The Jury constituted 10 members and was chaired by Mr Hari Bhartia, BioSpectrum Person of the Year 2009.

So, on this sunny Saturday morning in Delhi, the Jury members began arriving at the Oberoi Hotel. The action had just begun... with exchanging greetings and small talk about big things, that suddenly, the weather in Delhi changed and it started pouring - cats and dogs. First clearance/ congestion and then this unexpected heavy downpour delayed the landing schedule of Mr Bhartia's plane. So, while the chairman for the eighth edition of BioSpectrum Awards was still on his way, the jury in right earnest, began the spadework.

Mr Narayanan Suresh, group editor of BioSpectrum briefed the present Jury members on the process to be followed. Zeroing down on the possible winners via the process of elimination began... the process picked-up steam soon after the Jury Chairman arrived. Amidst debate, disagreements, agreements and good cheer, the winners became clear – unanimously.

The winners of the BioSpectrum Biotech Industry Awards are profiled in this special issue and are to be honored on December 17, 2010 in Bangalore. BioSpectrum salutes them for their achievements.

BioSpectrum Awards 2010 jury arrives. Meets, greets and gets down to work
Next Prev
Jury at work
The BioSpectrum Biotech Industry Awards Jury is a panel of eminent people, who come from diverse backgrounds - essentially representing the industry ecosystem. The panel is empowered to nominate or introduce any special category award.

There are two key categories of Awards – BioSpectrum Biotech Industry Awards and the BioSpectrum-ABLE Company of the Year Awards.
The Jury decides on the BioSpectrum Biotech Industry Awards, which includes: the Person of the Year, Entrepreneur of the Year, Product of the Year, Life Time Achievement, and the Special Category Award.

The winners of the BioSpectrum-ABLE Company of the Year Awards are decided on the basis of the BioSpectrum-ABLE Survey of the Biotech Industry. The top-ranked companies (by revenues) in each of the sectors are winners. These were published in June, July and August 2010 issues of BioSpectrum India edition.

Next Prev

BioSpectrum Jury Award Winners 2010
♦ BioSpectrum Person of the Year: Mr Glenn Saldanha, MD & CEO, Glenmark Pharmaceuticals
♦ BioSpectrum Entreprenuer of the Year: Dr Rashmi Barbhaiya, CEO, Advinus Therapeutics
♦ BioSpectrum Product of the Year: Cry1C bt gene  by Metahelix Life Sciences
♦ BioSpectrum State of the Year:  Karnataka
♦ BioSpectrum Life Time Achievement Award:  Dr Obaid Siddiqui
♦ BioSpectrum Leadership Award: Dr Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw, CMD, Biocon

BioSpectrum-ABLE Company Award Winners 2010
♦ BioPharma Company of the Year: Biocon
♦ BioIndustrial Company of the Year: Novozymes South Asia  
♦ BioServices Company of the Year: Quintiles India
♦ BioAgri Company of the Year: Nuziveedu Seeds
♦ BioInformatics Company of  the Year: Ocimum Biosolutions
♦ BioSupplier Company of the Year: Waters India
BioSpectrum BT School of the Year Winners 2010
♦ Public Institute of the Year:  Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai
♦ Private Institute of the Year:  Jaypee University of Information Technology, Solan, Himachal Pradesh

Awards Ceremony: December 17, 2010 in Bangalore
For an invitation to the ceremony email: sanamj@cybermedia.co.in
For sponsor enquiries: gurunathsa@cybermedia.co.in

Leave a Reply Sign in

Notify me of follow-up comments via e-mail address

Post Comment

Survey Box

National Health Policy

Is National Health Policy 2017 helpful for patients?

Send this article by email